Ann W.'s Picks

The Hearts of Men Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062469687
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Ecco Press - March 7th, 2017

In Nickolas Butler’s generous new novel, “Hearts of Men” are shaped by their fellow men and healed, if they’ll allow it, by their women.  At thirteen, Nelson Doughty – the Bugler – has little in common with his fellow scouts at Camp Chippewa in 1962.  Only one risked befriending him.  In the stew of boys’ summer camp, Jonathan makes and breaks his new friend in ways that will turn both men’s hearts.  The mothers, lovers, wives and sisters in these pages understand the risks of loving them.  Written with clear affection for the people of rural Wisconsin, Butler’s people struggle with the real costs of loyalty and courage, the rewards of forgiveness, and the promise at the heart of lifelong friendship.  Highly recommended.


Be Frank with Me Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062413727
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - September 6th, 2016

Reclusive literary legend M. M. “Mimi” Banning has been holed up in her Bel Air mansion for years.   Swindled out of her small fortune, Mimi must write a new book for the first time in decades.  To ensure the timely delivery of her manuscript, her New York publisher sends an assistant to monitor her progress.

When twenty-five year old Alice Whitley arrives in California, she’s put to work right away—as a full-time companion to Frank, the writer’s eccentric nine-year-old, a boy with the wit of Noel Coward, the wardrobe of a 1930s movie star, and very little in common with his fellow fourth-graders.

 As she waits for Mimi to finish the long-awaited manuscript, Alice learns the rules of caring for Frank and his equally eccentric mother and gets swept up in the mystery of their unconventional lives. 

Charming, heartbreaking, and hilarious, BE FRANK WITH ME is pure Hollywood.


The Chilbury Ladies' Choir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101906750
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - February 14th, 2017

As war threatens England in the early days of World War II, the women of Chilbury in Kent find strength and comfort in song.  A familiar tale of women who find their true strength in adversity, this novel of letters and journals has it all:  love, heartbreak, jealousy, courage, desperation, and redemption.  Fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the work of Helen Simonson will find a home in Chilbury.  Sure to be a book club favorite.


Lincoln in the Bardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812995343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - February 14th, 2017

An American master of short fiction, George Saunders’ first full-length novel is wildly inventive and completely mesmerizing.  Part historical fiction, part ghost story, Saunders builds a moving tale of around actual 1862 newspaper accounts of President Abraham Lincoln’s solitary visits to a borrowed crypt to hold his dead eleven-year-old son, Will.  Pitched into the graveyard, we are privy to intimate conversations between souls suspended between the world of the living and the world of the dead – the bardo of the Tibetan tradition. Packed with stories of love and lust, war and peace, compassion and regret, Lincoln in the Bardo creates a new literary form.  Readers who let themselves be carried along by the current of this marvelous tale are richly rewarded.


The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781492649359
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Sourcebooks - May 2nd, 2017

Young and vivacious, the women at the heart of Kate Moore’s remarkable THE RADIUM GIRLS loved their jobs.  In the 1920’s, the radium dial-painters were enchanted by the sparkling particles that glowed from the airplane dials and watches they detailed with tiny camel-hair brushes, shaped to a fine point with their lips and tongues.  Radium dust infused their hair and skin, making them glow like stars in the dark.  Soon, the gruesome effects of radium poisoning took its toll:  jaws disintegrated, hips fractured, tumors grew.  Dismissed as hysterical, these brave women fought to establish the rights of workers who contract occupational diseases to sue their employers for compensation.  Moving, fast-paced, and exhaustively researched, RADIUM GIRLS puts a human face on workers rights in the modern world.    


Mothering Sunday: A Romance Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781101971727
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - January 10th, 2017

"Orphaned and sent into service as a housemaid at sixteen, Jane Fairchild expects little more from life than what she has in the English countryside in 1924.  Her long clandestine love affair with the young heir next door ends in the early pages of MOTHERING SUNDAY, Graham Swift’s romance-like-you-haven’t-read-before.  Brief and expansive, this little tour de force of a novel delivers a sharp blow to the heart that somehow manages to go on beating.   With near-perfect prose, this one is short, sly, and sexy." 
 

 


Wintering Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101946466
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - June 7th, 2016

In his third novel, Peter Geye takes us deep into the wilderness of the human heart, disguised here as the forbidding territory of the Quetico, Minnesota’s vast northern borderlands.  Like Steinbeck’s portrayal of the Salinas Valley in East of Eden, Geye creates a moving portrait of a place he knows and loves.  Embedded in this heart-pounding adventure is a chilling story about the fragile membrane between love and hate.  An epic tale with a literary heart, WINTERING reveals dangerous fissures in a family’s history and real costs of love withheld.  


Lab Girl Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101874936
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - April 5th, 2016

Geobiologist Hope Jahren invites us to visit her version of Oz, a shining city of miracles and magic, in her memoir LAB GIRL.  Behind the curtain, the wizard is no balding, bespectacled fraud but a real, disheveled, and wickedly funny scientist whose joy of discovery makes us want to dye our hair green and dig in.  From her Minnesota roots to her world-renowned research lab in Hawaii, Jahren reveals the passions that drive her work and sustain her in a competitive and often hostile scientific community.  Her descriptions of trees and the soils they inhabit are so gorgeous, they will change how you view the world and the hope that we may yet save it from ourselves.  


Flight of Dreams Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385540025
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday Books - February 23rd, 2016

The first epic fail of technology to be captured on film, the explosion of Germany’s Hindenburg in 1937 remains a mystery.  Working with historical records of the ship and its final ill-fated flight, Ariel Lawhon fills in the gaps with a spirited story of the ninety-seven passengers and crew traveling across the Atlantic aboard a luxury hotel owned by the Nazi government.  An impressive cast of characters fraternize, strategize, patronize, and agonize their way from Frankfurt to Lakehurt, New Jersey.

Though we know how this ends, we root for our favorites to be among the Hindenburg’s sixty survivors.  Fast-moving historical fiction.   


Circling the Sun Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345534200
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - May 31st, 2016

Beryl Markham rarely did what she was told. A child of Africa born of British stock, Markham defied what conventions were possible in the heady days of colonial Kenya in the 1920's. Passionate, wild, and willful, Markham's life is the stuff of legend: the first female horse trainer licensed in Kenya, one of its first bush pilots, the first woman to solo an east west transatlantic flight, and the subject of several scandalous love affairs. In Paula McClain's capable hands, Markham's fascinating life fills the pages of CIRCLING THE SUN. A story of adventure and glamour, defiance and determination, CIRCLING THE SUN entertains and inspires. A great read.