Ann W.'s Picks

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101906750
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - February 14th, 2017

As war threatens England in the early days of World War II, the women of Chilbury in Kent find strength and comfort in song.  A familiar tale of women who find their true strength in adversity, this novel of letters and journals has it all:  love, heartbreak, jealousy, courage, desperation, and redemption.  Fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the work of Helen Simonson will find a home in Chilbury.  Sure to be a book club favorite.


Lincoln in the Bardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812995343
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House - February 14th, 2017

An American master of short fiction, George Saunders’ first full-length novel is wildly inventive and completely mesmerizing.  Part historical fiction, part ghost story, Saunders builds a moving tale of around actual 1862 newspaper accounts of President Abraham Lincoln’s solitary visits to a borrowed crypt to hold his dead eleven-year-old son, Will.  Pitched into the graveyard, we are privy to intimate conversations between souls suspended between the world of the living and the world of the dead – the bardo of the Tibetan tradition. Packed with stories of love and lust, war and peace, compassion and regret, Lincoln in the Bardo creates a new literary form.  Readers who let themselves be carried along by the current of this marvelous tale are richly rewarded.


Mothering Sunday: A Romance Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781101947524
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - April 19th, 2016

"Orphaned and sent into service as a housemaid at sixteen, Jane Fairchild expects little more from life than what she has in the English countryside in 1924.  Her long clandestine love affair with the young heir next door ends in the early pages of MOTHERING SUNDAY, Graham Swift’s romance-like-you-haven’t-read-before.  Brief and expansive, this little tour de force of a novel delivers a sharp blow to the heart that somehow manages to go on beating.   With near-perfect prose, this one is short, sly, and sexy." 
 

 


Wintering Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101946466
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - June 7th, 2016

In his third novel, Peter Geye takes us deep into the wilderness of the human heart, disguised here as the forbidding territory of the Quetico, Minnesota’s vast northern borderlands.  Like Steinbeck’s portrayal of the Salinas Valley in East of Eden, Geye creates a moving portrait of a place he knows and loves.  Embedded in this heart-pounding adventure is a chilling story about the fragile membrane between love and hate.  An epic tale with a literary heart, WINTERING reveals dangerous fissures in a family’s history and real costs of love withheld.  


Lab Girl Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101874936
Availability: Special Order
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - April 5th, 2016

Geobiologist Hope Jahren invites us to visit her version of Oz, a shining city of miracles and magic, in her memoir LAB GIRL.  Behind the curtain, the wizard is no balding, bespectacled fraud but a real, disheveled, and wickedly funny scientist whose joy of discovery makes us want to dye our hair green and dig in.  From her Minnesota roots to her world-renowned research lab in Hawaii, Jahren reveals the passions that drive her work and sustain her in a competitive and often hostile scientific community.  Her descriptions of trees and the soils they inhabit are so gorgeous, they will change how you view the world and the hope that we may yet save it from ourselves.  


Flight of Dreams Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385540025
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday Books - February 23rd, 2016

The first epic fail of technology to be captured on film, the explosion of Germany’s Hindenburg in 1937 remains a mystery.  Working with historical records of the ship and its final ill-fated flight, Ariel Lawhon fills in the gaps with a spirited story of the ninety-seven passengers and crew traveling across the Atlantic aboard a luxury hotel owned by the Nazi government.  An impressive cast of characters fraternize, strategize, patronize, and agonize their way from Frankfurt to Lakehurt, New Jersey.

Though we know how this ends, we root for our favorites to be among the Hindenburg’s sixty survivors.  Fast-moving historical fiction.   


The War Came Home with Him: A Daughter's Memoir Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9780816698776
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Minnesota Press - September 2015

THE WAR CAME HOME WITH HIM, a new memoir by Catherine Madison, reveals the intimate and heartbreaking legacy of cruelty on the human spirit. Her father, a brilliant and promising young surgeon in the U.S. Army Medical Corp, was swept into the Korean War when she was a baby. After three brutal years as a POW in North Korea, he comes home damaged and haunted, bringing with him the indelible stain of cruelty. 

Doc Boysen's story, told in alternating chapters with Madison's own coming-of-age tale, unfolds in horrifying detail. Like Alexandra Fuller's excellent "Don't Lets Go to the Dogs Tonight", THE WAR CAME HOME WITH HIM relates this complex and harrowing memoir without judgement. Only after her father's death did Madison discover the secret cache of information that allowed her to piece together the truth of this complicated Colonel Surgeon Father God who ruled her life with his memories. Beautifully written and carefully researched, this memoir brings the war home for all of us.


Someone Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780374281090
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - September 10th, 2013

Alice McDermott’s new novel, SOMEONE, has just over two hundred pages.  That means we can linger over its beautifully crafted words.  In them, this National Book Award winner packs the truth of life.  Marie, a child in pre-Depression Brooklyn, guides us through the treacheries of growing up poor and hopeful.  “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” fans will savor the clear-eyed details of friends and neighbors, rendered with wit and affection.  The street teems with incidents – stick ball games with a blind umpire, sudden death, disgrace.  McDermott trusts readers grasp the story as it unfolds, creating a mosaic of scenes that connect for us in unexpected and satisfying ways.  SOMEONE is a finely tuned book to savor over a winter weekend.


Circling the Sun Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780345534187
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - July 28th, 2015

Beryl Markham rarely did what she was told. A child of Africa born of British stock, Markham defied what conventions were possible in the heady days of colonial Kenya in the 1920's. Passionate, wild, and willful, Markham's life is the stuff of legend: the first female horse trainer licensed in Kenya, one of its first bush pilots, the first woman to solo an east west transatlantic flight, and the subject of several scandalous love affairs. In Paula McClain's capable hands, Markham's fascinating life fills the pages of CIRCLING THE SUN. A story of adventure and glamour, defiance and determination, CIRCLING THE SUN entertains and inspires. A great read.


The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780316055444
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - April 7th, 2015

THE GOLDFINCH is small and mysterious painting, the centerpiece of Donna Tartt’s  dense and brilliant novel.  Theo Decker miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother.  The event catapults us through this intricately crafted tale of intrigue and art, a tale of survival and longing.  Tartt captures Theo’s complex inner life with a verve that makes it impossible to abandon him in the dark heart of this novel.  His fellow travelers on this odyssey become whole people, as flawed and fascinating as Theo himself.   The masterful plot and exquisite detail of characters and settings require constant attention.  The reward of the last 50 pages is so satisfying, I read them a second time.  You’ve never read a coming-of-age story like this one.      

 

 

 


E.B. White on Dogs Cover Image
By Martha White (Editor)
$22.95
ISBN: 9780884483410
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tilbury House Publishers - March 25th, 2013

Lovers of dogs and a well-turned phrase:  prepare to be charmed.  A collection of essays and letters, E.B. White on Dogs will put a smile on your face. Steeped in the privileged and literary world of a young New Yorker magazine, E.B. White’s essays reveal an unpretentious, kind-hearted, and insightful man.  With keen and occasionally biting humor, White’s observations on society and the natural world are delivered through the lens of his admiration for the dogs in his life.  One dachshund (his wife’s preferred breed) named Fred accompanies White through the heartbreaking “Death of a Pig.”  If you’ve never cried reading Charlotte’s Web,” you will now.  Buy two.  This is a lovely gift book.

 


Visitation Street Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062249906
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco Press - April 15th, 2014

Between a fortress of housing projects and the newly christened berth of the Queen Mary, New York’s Red Hook borough shapes itself around VISITATION STREET.  Ivy Pochoda captures the despair of lives yanked off course as suddenly and swiftly as a swimmer caught in the dangerous currents of the East River.  Tenderness infuses this gritty story, laced with hope and remorse.  Pochoda’s loving eye takes in the exact moment of a fall from grace – the precise point at which innocence and guilt intersect.   

I’ll sell Pochoda’s literary chops to readers looking for an intelligent, intense fiction.  A great read.

 


Transatlantic Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812981926
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - May 20th, 2014

Compact and epic, Transatlantic is a near perfect blend of fact and fancy. Ireland connects three stories spanning three continents in this complex, beautifully written and satisfying novel by National Book Award winner (Let the Great World Spin) Colum McCann.