Ann's Picks

Spoonbenders Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524731823
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - June 27th, 2017

Kooky with a big heart is how I think of this delightful novel. The Telemachus family is made up of psychics and con artists, some of them struggle with whether to use their powers for good or for cash. Then the mafia and the CIA come calling and chaos reigns except for the one person who saw it all coming......


Broker Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780990846161
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Conquill Press - March 2017

Broker undertook missions in Vietnam that were so secret all traces of his escapades vanished. As a result, he has no resume' and can't get a job in his home town in northern Minnesota. The police chief  sends him to a workshop in the Twin Cities for a little "on paper" experience. While there he kills a cop who's gone crazy and then starts his descent into what will turn out to be a very interesting and dangerous series of events. I loved this book, couldn't put it down. Complex plot, great dialogue, gripping action scenes and really, really smart-ass funny.  


Lincoln in the Bardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812995343
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - February 14th, 2017

My favorite book of the new year, crazy good!! For a review far better than I could write, please look at Ann W.'s staff picks. She's written a concise description of this book which is very hard to describe. We are both excited to share this quirky, literary and we think, award winning novel with you all. 


The Gargoyle Hunters Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781101946886
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - March 21st, 2017

What a great read! A coming of age story about a 13 year old boy who helps his father steal architectural antiques off buildings in New York City in 1974. Adventure, hijinks, young love and wonderful, wise writing had me turning down pages so I can go back and savor them again. Ultimately a love letter to New York City. I'll never visit there again without looking up. 


The Excellent Lombards Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781455564224
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 19th, 2016

Mary Frances (Frankie) Lombard is my new favorite character. She's reminds me of Harper Lee's Scout - funny, fierce, determined and loyal to a fault. She loves the farm where she lives and worries that extended family will move in on her turf. All the kooky characters that inhabit her world make this novel a joy to read. That and Frankie's growing pains, of which there are many. Funny, rich, heartwarming, a feel-good story for all.


Celine Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780451493897
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - March 7th, 2017

Imagine an elegant grandmother who can shoot like a sniper and best a psychopathic biker with her steely self-confidence. A woman who stands up for the underdog at all costs. That's Celine,a private investigator/artist who specializes in reuniting families. I'm making this sound cartoonish, and it's not. Celine is such a great character I hope the author writes more episodes in her most interesting life.  


The Afterlife of Stars Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316308113
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little Brown and Company - January 10th, 2017

Two boys, brothers, flee Hungary in 1956 with their family, bound for Paris. Life is bewildering, terrifying, brutal and at times hilarious. Loved it!

 


Grief Is the Thing with Feathers Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9781555977412
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graywolf Press - June 7th, 2016

Grief is a giant crow that bursts in to your home and follows you around and won't go away. It mocks you and embarrasses you and tries your patience. This tiny novel is a slap in the face and then a warm snuggle. A gem of a book that you can read in an hour or so but that will stick with you for a long time. 


History of Wolves Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802125873
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - January 3rd, 2017

This is a dark, twisty story set in a cold and bleak northern Minnesota. A lonely girl is hired as a babysitter for a sickly boy. The warmth of this new little family is different from her own harsh life. When you are young and looking for love, signs of disfunction may be overlooked. 

This is a good read for a cold winter night. 


Kill the Father Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501130731
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - January 10th, 2017

Colomba Caselli, a police detective and Dante Torre, a consultant are thrown together to solve a kidnapping and murder that may have ties to Dante's horrific past. This is a twisty psychological thriller that keeps you reading way past your bedtime. 

 The first book in a planned series with these two fascinating characters.

For fans of Jo Nesbo and Jussi Adler-Olsen. 


A Gentleman in Moscow Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol Hotel by a Bolshevik tribunal. A man who never worked a day in his life is forced to live in attic rooms and watch the world around him change forever. In his quest to keep from going insane he meets and befriends many people from different classes and situations and as a result his world is opened to him in ways he never dreamed. Count Rostov makes the best of a bad situation and learns that often the most inconvenient things are the most worthwhile. Loved it!


Lab Girl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101873724
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - February 28th, 2017

This is a wonderful read! Who knew scientists were so funny? Hope Jahren can write about dirt and make it funny and interesting. Then she can write about her life in the lab and her relationship with the natural world and her travels with side-kick and fellow scientist Bill, and make you  wish you were a scientist too.  


Larose Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062277022
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - May 10th, 2016

I don't think I have ever read a better novel. Period. Ms. Erdrich can rip your heart out, mess around with it and then give it back to you much improved from it's original state. 

 


The North Water Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250118141
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador USA - March 14th, 2017

Brutal, bloody, violent and I couldn't put it down. Wait, I take that back. I often had to put it down after scenes that were gruesome. I'd take a little break and then was right back to it. Patrick Sumner, an ex-army surgeon signs on to be the ships medic on a whaling vessel. Also on board is a serial killer. They are headed for the Arctic Circle and what is believed to be rich waters filled with seals and whales. McGuires's writing is mesmerizing. The rich details of life on the ship, the stark beauty and violence of the landscape, the violence of war and men. If you have a strong stomach, give this a read. It's quite a book.


The Summer Before the War Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812983203
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - February 21st, 2017

From the author of MAJOR PETTIGREW'S LAST STAND, a store favorite. This novel again takes place in a little British village with an eccentric cast of characters. In the months before WWI starts, Beatrice takes a teaching job in the village. Her father has passed away and she is on her own. A local woman takes her under her wing and helps Beatrice navigate the strict social rules of the village. The woman's nephews, one a fun loving poet, the other a young doctor, keep things lively the summer before school starts. With war looming, the village joins the war effort by hosting refugees. Strict moral codes, gossip, and small-minded villagers restrict Beatrice's life so that she must work very hard to make a place for herself where she is valued for her talents and intelligence and not succumb to the heavy heart that threatens to weigh her down. A good read.


Wild Bird Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101940440
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 5th, 2017

This is the story of a smart, troubled girl who needs a nudge in the right direction. Eight weeks in a desert wilderness camp should do the trick. No cooked food or companionship until you can make fire. Everything you need is in your pack. Chip on your shoulder so you don't ask for help? Figure it out. Eight weeks of tough love prove inspirational for this wild bird. Loved it!